Sioux Valley Section

Welcome to the Sioux Valley Local Section Home Page. We are one of the 186 Local Sections of the American Chemical Society and our members come from all over the state of South Dakota. ACS Local Sections promote public awareness of chemistry by being involved in community outreach programs and by working with students of chemistry and science. We hope to encourage an interest in the chemical sciences. If you are interested in becoming a member of ACS, please go to for more information. If you are already an ACS member and would like to join our Local Section, please call or e-mail me or another officer (see Local Section Officers information below).
Dr. Z. Rick Wang, Ph.D., Chair

Chair - Dr. Z. Rick Wang, University of South Dakota, Vermillon SD 57069, (605) 677-7281

Chair Elect -Dr. George Mwangi, University of Sioux Falls, Sioux Falls, SD 57105 (605) 575-2069.

Past Chair- Dr. Ying (Daisy) Deng, University of South Dakota, University Center Sioux Falls SD, (605) 367-7715

Secretary - Dr. Ying (Daisy) Deng, University of South Dakota, University Center Sioux Falls SD, (605) 367-7715

Treasurer - Mr. Jeff Jung, T&R Services, 705 6th Ave. North, Brookings, SD 57006 (605) 534-3571.

Councilor - Dr. Jetty Duffy-Matzner, Augustana College, Sioux Falls, SD 57197 (605) 274-4822.

Alternate Councilor - Dr. George Mwangi, University of Sioux Falls, Sioux Falls, SD 57105 (605) 575-2069.

NCW Coordinator, CCED Coordinator - Mrs. Melissa Tille, POET Research, Sioux Falls SD (605) 261-0085,

Public Relations Chair, Newsletter Editor - Dr. Ranjit Koodali, University of South Dakota, Vermillon SD 57069 (605) 677-6189,


Councilor and Web-person is Jetty Duffy-Matzner, please send her your web listings!

A link to the Councilor's report from the Spring 2015 Denver National Meeting is here – please let me know if you have any questions. There is some news about materials available for the upcoming guidelines for ACS approved undergraduate programs,changes in registration fees and the upcoming ACS elections. If you have any questions please contact our councilor and webmaster, Jetty Duffy-Matzner.

Dates of interest 2015

The Executive Board is still working on updating our bylaws to include changes for electronic balloting and changes in our student members. If you have an interest and would like to be involved please contact any of the local section officers.

blue boxCCED imageSpread the news -Chemists Celebrate Earth Day is coming soon. This year's theme is Climate Science: More than just a weather report! We are looking for submissions to our NCW poster contest for K-12 applicants. Information should be posted soon. Here is a link to the National ACS website for more resources. We will also be having our K-12 poster contest for earthday please contact Melissa Tille for further information. The poster contest rules are at that link and the entry form can be found at here: Sioux Valley 2015 CCED Poem Contest form.

Upcoming Events/Announcements

bullet We will be holding our annual awards dinner on Friday, May 1st at Tre Lounge in Sioux Falls. More information should be posted shortly.

bullet Sioux Valley Local Section Election Results for the 2015 year: Chair Elect - George Mwang, Chair -Rick Wang, Immediate Past Chair -Daisy(Ying) Deng, Secretary -Daisy(Ying) Deng, Treasurer - Jeff Jung, Councilor( 3 yr term) Jetty Duffy-Matzner, Alternate Councilor (3 yr term) George Mwangi, Outreach Chair - Melissa Tille

Recent Events

Please send any news to Jetty Duffy-Matzner.

blue boxWe hosted our Annual Research Poster Contest on Saturday, September 20th at the GEAR Center (4800 N Career Ave) in Sioux Falls. The schedule ran from 9:30 am - 2:30 pm.There were 17 posters presented. First place went to Delaney Schara and Kellan Klubben (Augustana College), second place went to Sarah Fisher (Augustana College) and third place went to Alex Hannerstorm (USD). Thanks to the many volunteers who made this a memorable day. Pictures will be posted soon.

blue boxMidwest Regional meeting was held November 12-15th in Colombia, MO. Many of our members were there.

bullet NCWWe are very pleased to annouce the winners for the National Chemistry Week's Illustrated Poem Contest. We had 27 entries in the 6-8th grade catagory and 13 in the 9-12th grade. Winner of the 6-8th grade catagory was Ashley Geraetsof Memorial Middle School, teacher is Rachelle Anderson. Winner of the 9-12th grade was Savanna Timbey of Washington High School, teacher is Laura Mehlbrech. Congratulations, those winning entries received a cash prize and will be entered into the national ACS contest. Please click on the following links to see our winner's posters: Ashley Geraets and Savanna Timbey.

bulletThe Sioux Valley Local Section hosted an Awards Dinner on May 2nd 2014 from 6-8 p.m. at Tre Lounge in Sioux Falls. About 30 local section members and students gathered to celebrate our graduating seniors and volunteers for the local section. We were pleased to recognize 12 Outstanding Seniors and 3 Honorable Mentions. Outstanding Seniors: Stephen Bollinger (USD), David Christianson (USD), Steffani Donahoe (USD), Tam Ho (USD), Amanda Johnson (Augie), Aaron Kern (Northern State University), Kristin Luepke (Augie), Allison McEldowney (SDSU), Travis Nelson (USD), Ruthellen (Elle) Tornberg (Augie), Carissa Wieseler (USD). Honorable Mention: Adam Pay (SDSU), Dien Tran (Western Iowa Tech Community College), Renae Waters (Black Hills State University). In the left picture Officers: Melissa Reiss and Jeff Jung are with Chair Daisy Deng to pose with a graduating seniors. As can be seen in the right picture a good time was had by all.